Show/Hide

The beaches in Naples, Marco Island and the Gulf Coast Everglades region are clean and the water in the Gulf of Mexico here is clear. Click here for conditions.

Collier County Museum

Print

The Original Museum

Front of the Naples MuseumNestled on five acres of native Florida gardens, the Naples Museum showcases two historic cottages, a working archaeology lab, a Seminole village, tropical orchid house, wildlife displays, a 1910 steam logging locomotive and a recreated Seminole War fort.

Journey back over more than a million years at the Collier County Museum.

Inside of the Naples MuseumFrom prehistoric saber cat skeletons and Calusa Indians, to Spanish explorers and Seminole warriors, newly created exhibits and dioramas capture the panorama of local history.

This museum serves as our headquarters and has been open to the public since 1978. School and civic groups are welcome and may arrange for guided toursr by calling the Museum in advance.

Collier County also boasts a genuine World War II Sherman Tank. More about the tank...

Collage of Naples Museum

The Dr. Frank C. Craighead, Sr. Laboratory & Florida Native Garden:
These two attractions are highlights for the Naples Museum. The Garden is beautiful and showcases native plants for the State of Florida.

The Dr. Craighead Laboratory is a key attraction and education area for children and adults. A pioneer environmentalist, Dr. Frank Cooper Craighead, Sr., devoted much of his life's work to the study and preservation of Florida 's natural resources and beauty.

Craighead began his career in 1910 as a forest entomologist with the US Department of Agriculture. He made his first visit to South Florida in 1915 to investigate disease caused by beetles in pine trees and developed an immediate interest in the region's abundant plant and wildlife.

Dr. Craighead retired as Chief of Forest Entomology and moved to Homestead , Florida , in 1956. For the next 22 years, he studied South Florida's ecology and natural sciences for the Everglades National Park and National Geographic Society. He and his wife, Carolyn, moved to Naples in 1968.

A leading authority on Florida 's native plants and water resources, Dr. Craighead's scientific research, publications and personal dedication contributed to a growing national concern for the preservation of the Everglades and South Florida 's wetlands.

In 1976, Governor Reubin Askew officially honored Dr. Craighead as the “Scholar of the Everglades ” and joined the Collier County Commission in proclaiming November 16 th as “Dr. Frank C. Craighead, Sr. Day.”

Dr. Craighead's field laboratory was moved to the Museum grounds and restored in 1987. DEDICATED NOVEMBER 16, 1992 BY CAROLYN JOHNSON CRAIGHEAD

Map and directions

3331 E. Tamiami Trail
Naples, FL 34112

Hours:

  • Monday - Saturday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Closed on National and County Holidays
  • Accessible to the handicapped

Admission:

  • Free. Donations accepted.

Contact Information:

  • Phone: 239-252-8476
  • Fax: 239-252-8580
  • Email